4.2.4 Modifying Configurations

Important Points to Consider before Modifying Configurations:

  • For a default file, the file shipped with the product is backed up. You can revert the configuration to the file shipped with the product if required. However, any intermediate version of the file is not backed up automatically. Access Manager does not back up any file that is not available with the production installation. Therefore, it is recommended to take a backup of any file before you modify it.

  • The server.xml file is specific to each device as it contains the specific keystore password and server address in connectors. While applying changes from this file, IP addresses and keystore passwords available in server.xml connectors for that device are retained. See Managing server.xml Changes.

  • Permissions associated with the parent file or folder are inherited when you add a new file or folder. Access Manager retains the permissions of the parent folder while replacing an existing file or folder.

  • When you upload a folder, it overwrites the existing folder on the server completely. If you have modified only a few files in the folder and want to retain other files, add the modified files individually instead of using the folder upload option.

  • File Editor does not verify the correctness of syntax and invalid characters in a file.

Perform the following steps to modify a configuration file or folder:

  1. In Administration Console Dashboard, click Advanced File Configurator.

  2. Select the device-specific tab based on your requirement. For example, if you want to modify an Access Gateway file, select the Access Gateway tab.

  3. Expand the cluster for which you want to modify a file or folder.

    If the required file is not available here, add it. For information about how to add a file, see Section 4.2.1, Adding Configurations to a Cluster.

  4. Click the file or folder that you want to modify.

  5. Make the following changes as required:

    Field

    Description

    Replace with New File

    If you want to replace the existing file or folder with another version, upload the required file or folder from your local system.

    1. Select Upload.

    2. Browse and select the required file. If you have selected Folder under Upload Type, you can upload files only in the ZIP format.

    File

    Click File Editor. In this editor, you can compare the file with a file from another server and make the changes in the file.

    If you select Replace with New File, the new file is opened in the editor.

    For information about comparing files, see Comparing Configuration Files.

    Restart <component name>

    Turn on the toggle if the configuration changes in this file require the service restart to take effect.

    • For Identity Server and Access Gateway: When this option is turned on, you are prompted to perform Update All for the relevant cluster after sending changes to devices. After updating the server, the device-specific service is restarted.

    • For Administration Console: When this option is turned on, after sending changes to devices, Advanced File Configurator displays a message indicating the service restart is required. Restart Administration Console manually by running the following commands:

      /etc/init.d/novell-ac restart

      Or

      systemctl restart novell-ac.service

    Temporary Modification

    Turn on the toggle if you do not want to retain this configuration change in the next Access Manager upgrade.

    This option helps you identify the files that you need to remove after the upgrade. For example, a temporary code fix. If this is turned on, you must remove this file manually after the upgrade.

    Modification Type

    Select the type of modification from the list. You can specify the type manually if the list does not contain the required type.

    You can later use this information to search for files that are updated for a specific type. For example, you can search for all files for which Modification Type is Security Setting.

    Description

    Specify the details of the changes you have made in the file. As you might require to update the configurations many times over the period, you can use these details to track when and what changes were done in the file. You can also use this information as criteria to search for specific files.

  6. Click OK.

  7. To apply the configuration changes, continue with Applying Configurations to Devices.