The Secure Shell configuration file contains settings that are specific to the Secure Shell client connection. This user-specific file is created and updated automatically when you modify your settings using the Secure Shell Settings Dialog Box. Settings are saved automatically when you close this dialog box. The file name and location is:
My Documents \Micro Focus\[product-name]\.ssh\config
Settings in this file are applied per host (or per SSH configuration scheme) and affect both terminal session and FTP Client sessions. For example, when you configure non-default Secure Shell settings for a connection to Acme.com from a terminal session (and you don’t specify an SSH configuration scheme), the Secure Shell settings are saved in the configuration file in a section identified with the following line:
If you also configure the FTP Client to connect to Acme.com (and you don’t specify an SSH configuration scheme), the FTP Client uses the settings in the "Host Acme.com" section of the configuration file. (Settings are shared in the same way if you specify the same SSH configuration scheme in both applications.)
NOTE:When you close thedialog box, values with default settings are not saved to the configuration file. If a default value has been manually added to the file, it is removed when you close the dialog box. This imposes design constraints if you use wildcard host stanzas in combination with stanzas that use specific host names. If you have manually configured a default value in a specific host stanza that is meant to override a value configured in a wildcard stanza, the default setting is removed when you open the Secure Shell settings dialog box to view settings for the host-specific SSH config scheme. You can successfully handle this situation by using the global configuration file, which is not updated when users open and close the dialog box.
Global Configuration File
System administrators can also install a system-wide configuration file. The file name and location is:
Settings in this file affect client connections for all users of the computer.