To Install Additional Features on a Windows Server (2012 or later), Windows 10 or Later

To operate Enterprise Server for .NET on a Windows server (2012 or later), you need to install additional Windows features that are supplied with the installation software.

This topic refers to the Windows server 2012 version. Windows 10 might be slightly different, and later versions of Windows server might have a slightly different process, but the key components remain the same.

  1. Open the Server Manager and select local server - Add roles and Features.
  2. Add the Web Server ( IIS) role with the following, making sure that the Application development role is installed:
    • Under Common Http Features, select:
      • Default Document.
    • Under Security, select:
      • Request Filtering
    • Under Application Development, select:
      • .NET extensibility 3.5
      • .NET extensibility 4.5
      • Application initialization
    • Under Management tools, select:
      • IIS management Console
      • IIS 6 Management (select all available options )
  3. Add the Windows Process Activation Service feature, and all its children.
  4. If framework 4.5 is installed, add the .NET Framework 4.5 features to include:
    • Named Pipe Activation
    • TCP Activation
    • TCP Port Sharing
  5. If framework 3.5.1 is installed, add the .NET Framework 3.5.1 Features:
    • WCF Activation
      • HTTP Activation
      • Non-HTTP Activation
  6. Apply and check the WCF services are enabled and running:
    1. Open the services mmc via the control panel.
    2. Ensure that the Net.Pipe Listener adapter is enabled and started and set to autostart.
    3. Ensure that the Net.Tcp Listener adapter is enabled and started and set to autostart.
    4. Ensure that the Net.Tcp Port Sharing Service is enabled and started and set to autostart.