This configuration variable applies only to Windows systems. When this variable is set to 1 (on, true, yes), the cache buffers will be flushed to disk when the file is closed. Versions prior to 4.3.1 flushed the cache buffers for safety reasons. This, however, reduced system performance, significantly in some programs. This feature is turned "off" by default.