A suitable way to maintain an AWM is to define a test application in the master configuration file.
One way to test model modifications is to specify a local file path for the AWM in the master configuration file. This should
point to a project in the administrator's workspace. See
Setting up and Configuring AWM for more information. This is so that the project can conveniently maintain the file with the Model editor. It is also possible
to make use of the file suffix
.model, as the file can be directly opened with the Model editor.
Certain changes to an AWM that has already been used could lead to the existing cache no longer being compatible with the AWM. In particular the removal of properties and the modification of IDs. The results are errors at run time and as a rule occur when loading the application.
If errors still occur when loading a new version, a number of components have to be deleted in the cache, entries in the master configuration.
If a situation arises when testing that makes the automatic deletion of the cache by the entry no longer possible in the master, the cache can be deleted manually at any time.
The figure above shows the complete cache of an application in the Navigator view. The individual files have the following descriptions:
|File name||Description||Critical changes|
lm_Element List s.xml
| Contain all the information stored about elements and element lists.
Deleting the files removes all element lists and the cached information about elements. They should always be deleted together, or inconsistencies could arise.
|Changes to ID definitions, element list structures, elements and all their relationships.|
| Contains all the information about showing element lists on the user interface.
Contain all the information about columns of a Table Results view.
Contains errors that have been generated by means of the integrated tools Error Feedback.
All the error entries of the Error List are lost when the file is deleted.
|ft_filters.xml|| Contains all the filters defined by the user.
All the filters are lost if the file is deleted.
|Changes to filter types and their relationships.|
|ft_openfiles.xml|| Stores references to all files that the user had open when leaving the application in the editor.
Once this file has been deleted, a restore of editor changes after an application restart is no longer possible.
|jt_jobs.xml|| Contains all submitted and finished jobs.
All the job information is lost if the file is deleted.
Even if the Navigator view supports the deletion of files in principle, the cache must be directly deleted from the file system after closing Eclipse. Otherwise, the cache is rewritten when leaving Eclipse, this is because the cache is exclusively created on Close. The Navigator view can be used to locate the cache from the Properties view, see the figure below:
If all changes to a new AWM have been tested locally, they can be released for all users. The following steps must be followed: