When users no longer need access to your Micro Focus Filr site, you have two options to revoke their access to the Filr site: disabling or deleting their Filr user accounts.
Micro Focus recommends that you disable user accounts rather than deleting them, especially if there is a chance that a users might need Filr access in the future.
When you delete a user account, the deleted account can never be re-activated. Also, all files and folders that the user shared with other users are no longer accessible.
When you disable a user account, all the active shares from that user are still accessible. Also, the Filr administrator can use the Admin Console to edit the Filr share rights set on these shares. For more information about editing the shared settings, see Filr 4.3: Administrative UI Reference.
For information on how to disable a user, see User and Group Maintenance.
Path: Port 8443 Filr Administration Console > > >
User Object: This represents the user in the Filr system and contains:
The user’s profile information, including the profile picture and other information the user has entered.
Access controls to Personal Storage, individually assigned Quotas, and individually assigned Sharing rights.
If you delete a user object, the above information is permanently deleted from Filr and the user can no longer access Filr.
User Workspace: This is a physical location in the Filr system where the following is stored:
Personal Storage, including any files and folders that were shared with other users.
If you move the workspace to trash, it can be recovered, as described in Recovering User Workspaces from the Trash.
If you delete a user’s workspace, the Personal Storage associated with the users is permanently deleted and cannot be recovered.
However, the User Object still exists, and the user still has access to Filr, the user’s assigned Net Folders, items shared with the user, comments, and so on.
When you choose to delete users, you can select from the following options before confirming the action.
Table 20-1 Available Options when Deleting Users
Users Have Home Directories
Options Available and Actions Taken
If you delete user accounts that were created by the LDAP synchronization process without following the instructions in this section, new users with the same name are created the next time the users log in or the next time the LDAP synchronization occurs.
User accounts can be synchronized to the Filr site with an LDAP directory. Although you can delete Filr user accounts, Micro Focus recommends that you disable them, as described in User and Group Maintenance.
If you decide to delete Filr user accounts, it is safer to manually delete than to delete them through the LDAP synchronization process. Because user accounts that are deleted cannot be recovered, ensure that you know exactly which users you are deleting; the only way to be sure is to manually delete them.
The following method is preferred for deleting user accounts from the Filr site if the accounts are being synchronized from an LDAP directory:
In your LDAP directory, modify the User objects that you want to delete from the Filr site so that the User objects no longer match the LDAP synchronization criteria that you previously set.
In Filr, manually delete the user accounts, as described in Deleting User Objects and Workspaces.
CAUTION:Micro Focus recommends against having the LDAP synchronization process automatically delete Filr users and workspaces because it might result in unwanted deletion of users!
For example, if the LDAP context is entered incorrectly and none of the users match the incorrect LDAP context, all of the users are permanently deleted.
For more information about configuring LDAP synchronization to automatically delete Filr users and workspaces, see Filr 4.3: Administrative UI Reference.
Path: Port 8443 Filr Administration Console > > > >
If you have deleted user workspaces, you can restore the workspaces from the trash.
NOTE:It is not possible to restore user objects that have been deleted.