Defining and Assigning Performance Levels (Reactive Approach)

  1. Model and execute a load test.
  2. When the execution is completed, the Load Test Summary page displays. Click Analyze load test. Performance Explorer opens and the HTML Overview Report displays.
  3. Click the Reports tab and Define Levels.
  4. The Define Performance Levels dialog displays, containing a table. The table rows represent the performance levels. You can add as many performance levels as you require.
  5. The columns represent the performance indicators. Per column, select one of the following performance indicators:
    • Avg: average value
    • P50: median
    • P90: 90th percentile
    • P95: 95th percentile
    • P99: 99th percentile
  6. Name your performance levels and enter values for each level.
  7. When your performance levels are defined, click Assign Levels.
  8. The Assign Performance Levels dialog shows all measures that were collected during the load test. You can assign the defined performance levels manually to each measure. Or you can click Automatically set levels based on baseline. You can also filter the list to quickly find a specific measure, and you can click Reset all levels to none. When you are done, click OK.
Look out for the performance levels in the overview report. They are color-coded: Performance levels that are met display in green, performance levels that are missed display in red. This allows you to instantly see whether a load test is to be considered as passed or failed. To set your performance levels before executing the load test, follow the proactive approach.
Note: A performance level definition is valid for a particular workload. If you have multiple workloads, you can define performance levels for each workload.